80's TV Shows 80s Television Series 80's TV Website 80s Music Site 80's Movies Website 80's Television Shows Play 80's Arcade Games Shop 80's Store

L.A. Law TV Show

80's TV Show Facts for L.A. Law

Television Show Summary

The TV drama L.A. Law chronicled life in a large Los Angeles, California law firm, McKenzie, Brackman, Chaney & Kuzak. The plots dealt with the personal and professional activities of the partners, associates, and other staff of the law firm.

L.A. Law DVD

TV Show Plot For L.A. Law

L.A. Law first appeared as a two-hour TV movie, which aired Monday, September 15, 1986.

LA Law was produced by Steven Bochco, who later created NYPD Blue. The show won numerous awards, including the Emmy for Outstanding Drama Series in 1989, 1990, and 1991. Some of the actors, such as Larry Drake, also received Emmys for their performances.

After the end of the show's run in 1994, it returned for a single broadcast in 2002 as L.A. Law: The Movie. Nearly the entire original cast appeared in the movie.

Cast of L.A. Law TV Show

Harry Hamlin - Michael Kuzak
Susan Dey - Grace Van Owen
Corbin Bernsen - Arnold "Arnie" Becker
Jimmy Smits - Victor Sifuentes
Jill Eikenberry - Ann Kelsey
Alan Rachins - Dougl- Brackman Jr.
Michele Greene - Abigail "Abby" Perkins
Michael Tucker - Stuart Markowitz
Susan Ruttan - Roxanne Melman
Richard A. Dysart - Leland McKenzie
Larry Drake - Benny Stulwitz
Blair Underwood - Jonathan Rollins

Trivia for the TV Show L.A. Law

L.A. Law won 15 Emmy Awards during its run.

LA Law took the NBC's important Thursday night at 10PM time slot from the TV show Hill Street Blues, and was later replaced by another hit ensemble drama, ER.

The LA Law theme song was written by Mike Post and features a saxophone solo by smooth jazz artist David Sanborn.

John Spencer and Jimmy Smits later appeared together on the TV show The West Wing.

Top 20 Ratings Info for L.A. Law Series

1986-87 - 1st Season - Ranked #21
1987-88 - 2nd Season - Ranked #13
1988-89 - 3rd Season - Ranked #13
1989-90 - 4th Season - Ranked #16

80's TV Show Facts:

The TV Show L.A. Law was televised from 09/15/1986 to 05/19/1994, on the NBC network.

L.A. Law TV Show Emmy Awards:

Gregory Hoblit won best Directing, Drama Series for the 1986-87 episode Premiere.

L.A. Law won best Outstanding Drama Series in 1986-87.

Steven Bochco & Terry Louise Fisher won best Writing, Drama for the 1986-87 episode Venus Butterfly.

Larry Drake won best Supporting Actor, Drama in 1987-88.

L.A. Law won best Outstanding Drama Series in 1988-89.

Larry Drake won best Supporting Actor, Drama in 1988-89.

L.A. Law won best Outstanding Drama Series in 1989-90.

Jimmy Smits won best Supporting Actor, Drama in 1989-90.

David E. Kelley won best Writing, Drama for the 1989-90 episode Blood, Sweat and Fears.

More 80's TV Series:

Laverne and Shirley

Little House on the Prairie

Love Boat, The

Magnum P.I.



Miami Vice


All 80s TV Shows

80's TV Shows|80's Songs|80's Movies|80's Game Arcade
80's Television Show L.A. Law download free 80's era DVD, TV Show cast of characters and plot descriptions.