80's TV Shows 80s Television Series 80's TV Website 80s Music Site 80's Movies Website 80's Television Shows Play 80's Arcade Games Shop 80's Store

In the Heat of the Night TV Show

TV Series Summary for In the Heat of the Night

Television Show Summary

This 80's TV show was based on the critically acclaimed novel of In The Heat Of The Night, the TV series was based around life in the new South.

In the Heat of the Night DVD

TV Show Plot For In the Heat of the Night

In The Heat Of The Night was set in the fictional town of Sparta, Mississippi, and followed the professional and personal lives of it's police officers. The series contained a mixture of drama and folksy humor.

The series starred Carroll O'Connor, who also was the executive producer. O'Connor also wrote many of the In The Heat Of The Night series episodes.

The series dealt with a variety of issues in it's seven seasons on TV including: racism, drug abuse, rape, murder, incest, government corruption and drunk driving.

Three actors who played main characters on In The Heat of The Night have since passed away. Hugh O'Connor, who played Jamison on the series, committed suicide in 1995 after a long bout with drug abuse. Howard Rollins died in 1996 due to complications from lymphoma. Carroll O'Connor, who had been suffering from diabetes, died in 2001 after having a heart attack.

Cast of In the Heat of the Night TV Show

Carrol O'Connor - Chief/Sheriff Bill Gillespie
Anne-Marie Johnson - Althea Tibbs
Howard E Rollins Jr - Virgil Tibbs
Alan Autry - Capitain Bubba Skinner
Hugh O'Connor - Jamison

Trivia for the TV Show In the Heat of the Night

Several episodes, as well as two In The Heat Of The Night movies, written by Carroll O'Connor were credited under his pen name of Matt Harris.

William "Bill" Champlin of the band Chicago sings the opening theme song for the show.

In 1992, at the beginning of the series' sixth season the show was moved to the CBS television network.

Top 20 Ratings Info for In the Heat of the Night Series

1987-88 - 1st Season - Ranked #19
1988-89 - 2nd Season - Ranked #18
1989-90 - 3rd Season - Ranked #19

80's TV Show Facts:

The TV Show In the Heat of the Night was televised from 03/06/1988 to 05/16/1995, on the NBC network.

In the Heat of the Night TV Show Emmy Awards:

Carroll O'Connor won best Lead Actor, Drama in 1988-89.

More TV Series Favorites:

Jeffersons, The

Kate and Allie

Knots Landing

L.A. Law

Laverne and Shirley

Little House on the Prairie

Love Boat, The

Magnum P.I.

All 80s TV Shows

80's TV Shows|80's Songs|80's Movies|80's Game Arcade
80's Television Show In the Heat of the Night download free 80's era DVD, TV Show cast of characters and plot descriptions.